Skip to content

About Canadian North

Advisory Board

The formation of a Canadian North Advisory Board is a part of the regulatory strategy applied after two northern airlines merged to form Canadian North in 2019. Canadian North embraces the role of the Advisory Board in communicating the priorities and concerns of the communities represented by its members.  

Advisory Board Members

The Advisory Board is comprised of members nominated by organizations that represent a broad cross-section of the communities served by the company, including representatives nominated by Inuit Beneficiary Organizations.

Matthew Bowler

Nominated by the Government of Nunavut

Matthew Bowler has resided in Nunavut since 2006. He has served in various policy roles within the Department of Economic Development and Transportation over the past 14 years, spanning the department’s economic development and the transportation mandates. He currently holds the position of Director of Transportation Policy and Planning, working on matters related to air transport and other transport modes. Matthew holds a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business.

He possesses a solid understanding of Nunavut’s communities, economy, and transportation system, as well as of governance principles and government processes.

Kenny Bell

Nominated by the Nunavut Association of Municipalities

Shawn Maley

Nominated by the Government of the Northwest Territories

Originally from Caledon Ontario. Shawn Maley received his Undergraduate Degree from York University and Masters from Ohio University. He has lived in the Arctic since 1989, initially working for the Hamlet of Arviat and then various roles with the Government of the Northwest Territories, and the Government of Nunavut in Rankin Inlet and Inuvik. Shawn was an Assistant Deputy Minister for the Government of Nunavut for 9 years and also the Director of Nunavut Airports for 5 years. He relocated to Yellowknife in 2013 and presently is the Chief Executive Officer for Northern Employee Benefits Services.

Shawn is a licensed pilot and owns and flies a Cessna 185. In addition he is an avid outdoorsman and enjoys fishing, hunting, hiking, camping, skiing and Old Timers Hockey.

Jim Marriott

Nominated by the Minister of Transport

Jim Marriott is the President of James Marriott Consulting, where he advises clients on a range of aviation security and facilitation issues. In August 2019, the Minister of Transport appointed Jim to the Canadian North Advisory Board. He is also a member of the Editorial Board of Aviation Security International. From 2010 to 2017, Jim was employed by the International Civil Aviation Organization, where he led ICAO’s global aviation security and facilitation programs. Prior to joining ICAO, he worked for 25 years with Transport Canada and held a number of senior executive positions. Jim has a BA in Geography and an MA in Public Administration. He and his wife, Joanne, live in Ottawa. In his spare time, Jim is President of The Moorcroft Home Owners Association, a ski instructor and avid road cyclist. 

Nominated by the Makivik Corporation

Floyd Roland

Nominated by the Inuvialuit Development Corporation

An Inuvialuk (Inuk of the Western Arctic), Floyd Roland grew up in Inuvik, Northwest Territories. After finishing his schooling at Samuel Hearne Secondary School, he left home to study auto mechanics at the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) in Calgary, and at its sister college NAIT in Edmonton. He returned north to work as a mechanic, and entered politics in the early 1990s as an Inuvik town councilor. He served as deputy mayor of Inuvik from 1994 to 1995. During this time, Floyd also sat as chair of the Inuvik Hunters and Trappers Committee, and as president of the Western Arctic Tourism Association. He also played hockey and volunteered as a minor league coach.

From local politics, Floyd entered the territorial race and was first elected as a member of the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly in 1995 where he helmed important portfolios such as Finance, Health and Social Services, Public Works, Human Resources, Housing and Public Utilities. In 2003 he was made Deputy Premier of the Northwest Territories, and served as its 11th Premier from 2007 until 2011. Floyd then returned to Inuvik and was elected its Mayor, serving from 2012 to 2015. In 2015 Floyd was appointed Chair of the Inuvialuit Investment Corporation (IIC) and was then reappointed in November 2018.

Nominated by the Nunavut Tunngavik Inc


If you have concerns with respect to our service, your comments may be directed to In addition to receiving a response to your comment from Canadian North, these comments are aggregated and reported to Transport Canada.